Saint Wilfrid's, Haltwhistle
The present St. Wilfrid’s church in Haltwhistle is the successor to a former church erected in the East end of Haltwhistle in 1865 and dedicated to Holy Cross which became known as St. Wilfrid’s in 1920.
It is probably a forerunner of the current term ‘Cluster parishes’ for in 1982 the parish was joined with Haydon Bridge and has remained ever since.
Due to the swelling congregation the church transferred to the West end of the town and was unique perhaps in the diocese as it moved into the United Reformed Church building in 1991 and so began the sharing of the building by both congregations.
With the depletion of United Reformed Church worshipers the building was purchased for the sole use of the Roman Catholic congregation in July 2010. It continues to retain features of the Reformed Church with the wooden pulpit as central.
While we are preparing for Woman's World Day of Prayer and Messy Church, we have the following events throughout Lent:
- Churches Together in Haltwhistle have arranged a series of services at different churches (rather like the Station Partnership Masses). Beginning on a Mon. first week and ending on a Frid. week 5. A layperson from each church undertakes leadership and there is a Minister to preach. We greatly appreciate the guides we have from the department of spirituality on Lenten resources which helps in our leadership roles at the services.
- The Methodist church have a monthly Breakfast worship where an informal get-to-gether provides Bacon Butties and scripture discussion over a cup of tea. Then we have Frugal lunches provided each week by different churches with plenty of input from the men.
- Our C. of E. church has Stations of the Cross each Thursday during lent which finishes before our St. Wilfrid's Mass at 10a.m. for those who wish to take advantage.